​​​Credit Service

of

HAVE QUESTIONS? WE HAVE ANSWERS.

How old does my account need to be before I send it to collections?

Do I need to notify the consumer that they are being sent to collections?

Do I have to sign a contract with you?

Do you have a flat rate or an escalated rate?

Are there any fees to sign up or send accounts?

What do I need to send to you to start collections on an account?

What if the consumer contacts me after I've sent their account to collections?

​What if the consumer sends me a payment after I've sent the account to collections? 

Can you collect from someone that doesn't live in Utah?

How long does the account stay in collections?

What if I don't want to use your legal services?

How can I know the status of my account?

When does the consumers account report to the credit bureaus?

How often do I receive payments?

Can you review my case before I submit it for collections?

Can I cancel an account after it's been sent to collections?

Can I adjust the balance due after I've sent the account to collections?



How old does my account need to be before I send it to collections?

We suggest sending the account to collections when it is 60-90 days delinquent.  This is the best time for us to contact the consumer and get quick results. 


Do I need to notify the consumer that they are being sent to collections?

No.  You are not required to let the consumer know that you intend to send their account to collections.  Most clients prefer to send a "final notice" but it is not required.


Do I have to sign a contract with you?

​Yes.  We do have a contract that simply outlines our terms and rates.  We do not require you to use our agency for a certain period of time or send a certain number of accounts.  We only ask that you do not send the same account to multiple agencies. 


Do you have a flat rate or an escalated rate?
Both.  We can offer the simplicity of an flat rate on all accounts in all stages, or the tailored option of an escalated rate.  We can tailor our services to fit your needs. 

Are there any fees to sign up or send accounts?

No.  There are no sign up fees, annual fees, or listing fees.  We do not require any payment up front.


What do I need to send to you to start collections on an account?

We ask you to send copies of the consumers last known contact information, itemization showing the balance you wish for us to collect, and the signed financial agreement or contract between you and your consumer. In some cases we can still proceed without a signed financial agreement.


​What if the consumer contacts me after I've sent their account to collections?
The best practice is to refer the consumer to CSL after you've referred their account to us.  This allows us to inform them of a correct balance, obligations regarding litigation, and how they can avoid negative credit reporting. 


What if the consumer sends me a payment after I've sent the account to collections?

Please give us a call so we can credit their account in our office as well. 


Can you collect from someone that doesn't live in Utah?
Yes.  We are licensed in Utah, Idaho, Colorado, Nebraska, and South Dakota.  We also can forward your account to another agency in another state if we are pursuing litigation on your behalf. 


How long does the account stay in collections?
The statute of limitations is typically 6 years from the date of service of the last payment, however, the statute can differ depending on the type of account.


What if I don't want to use your legal services?

That's ok!  We do not proceed with legal action unless you have authorized us to do so by signing our request form.  


How can I know the status of my account?

Call us during business hours, send us an email, or check the status online through our client portal anytime.

When does their account report to the credit bureaus?

We send information for unpaid balances after we've had the account in our office for 30 days.  If the consumer pays their account in full before the 30th day, no information is sent to the bureaus. 

How often do I receive payments?
We remit payment we've received to you once per month.  


Can you review my case before I submit it for collections?
Yes.  We are happy to review the documentation pertaining to the account you are trying to collect before you sign our contract. 

Can I cancel an account after it's been sent to collections?

If an account is send to us an error, you can cancel accounts within 7 days.  If cancelled after 7 days, there may be a cancellation fee.  Accounts that have been referred to our attorney cannot be cancelled. 

Can I adjust the balance due after I've sent the account to collections?

We cannot increase the balance on an item after it is send to collections, however, we can create a new item for the additional amount owing.  We can make adjustments or credits to an account if insurance pays or the consumer makes a payment to you directly. 


Still have a question we haven't answered? 

Contact us here









Logan

Call Us: (800) 221-3207